Town of Saugerties Senior Education Commission Monday, December 14, 2020 Approved Meeting Notes

The meeting was called to order at 10:00 am by Susan Davis, teleconferenced on Zoom. Laura Phillips agreed to serve as scribe for the meeting.

Present: Susan Davis, Susan Puretz, Fran Jacobson, Laura Phillips and town liaison Leeanne Thornton.

Susan Davis welcomed freshman SEC member Fran Jacobson to the first SEC meeting of 2020, thanking her and other commissioners and Leeanne for their participation during the year.

Chairperson Davis stated that notice of the meeting had been duly published in three locations and that she had received no public comments. No members of the public contacted her to request a Zoom invitation as stated in published notice.

Susan Davis stated the she had sent a letter to Peg Nau upon her appointment to the Saugerties Town Board. Since Peg could no longer serve on the SEC, Susan's letter expressed the SEC's thanks and appreciation for Peg's service.

Susan Davis stated she had received an email from Laura Rock Kopczak, of Arm of the Sea Theater inquiring about making a presentation to the Lifespring Board about the Tidewater Project. Susan Davis passed this correspondence along to the Lifespring Board for any further action. Leeanne mentioned that Ms. Kopczak is seeking to connect with groups that would be interested in the Tidewater project.

Susan Puretz made a motion, seconded by Fran Jacobson, that we renew the Senior Education Guidelines after updating the guidelines of December 16, 2019, with current dates. During discussion, it was decided it was unnecessary to change language in the SEC guidelines about approving Lifespring fees and requesting additional town services, since SEC members already vote each month to approve decisions of the Lifespring Board of Directors. The full text of the revised guidelines is attached.

After the start of 2021, the SEC will meet again and appoint a Chairperson and Vice Chairperson for 2021. The person appointed to the vacancy on the SEC will serve a four year term from January 1, 2021 to December 31, 2024. It is anticipated that the Town Board will appoint Colleen Greco to fill this vacancy.

Laura Phillips made a motion, seconded by Susan Puretz to adjourn. Passed unanimously. Meeting adjourned at 10:25 am.

Laura Phillips, note taker pro tem Page 1 of 2 Approved Notes

REVISED SENIOR EDUCATION COMMISSION GUIDELINES – December 14, 2020

In order to insure the continued success and high level of achievement that Lifespring has attained, the Senior Education Commission of the Town of Saugerties assigns the responsibility for the smooth and continuing operation of Lifespring to the members of the LS Board of Directors from January 1, 2021, through December 31, 2021. This will include the electing of officers, members-at-large, and appointing Committee Coordinators (full and ad hoc) as outlined in the LS By-Laws amended and approved on May 29, 2019. The Lifespring Board will be responsible for overseeing the daily operations of Lifespring.

Policies and procedures as established by the Lifespring Board shall remain in effect.

The Lifespring Board of Directors will keep the Senior Education Commission informed of the status and operation of Lifespring by providing the Commission and the Town Board Liaison with copies of the minutes of all official Board meetings, LS catalogs, newsletters, etc. In addition, the Senior Education Commission reserves the right to review and approve any proposed By-Law changes, to approve any increase in membership fees, and to act as the interface between LS and the Liaison from the Saugerties Town Board, and/or the Town Supervisor and Town Board. Any requests by LS for new and/or additional Town Services will be reviewed either by the Commission or Senior Education Commission chairperson. The Commission reserves the right to remove any LS officer for cause. Vacancies on the LS Board will be filled according to the process outlined in their By-Laws.

This revised agreement will be in effect January 1, 2021, through December 31, 2021.

Approved by the members of the Senior Education Commission December 14, 2020.

Susan Davis, Chair Susan Puretz Laura Phillips Fran Jacobson